top of page

Make life sweet with The Lemon Stand

“Don’t quit your daydream.”

In my sophomore year of college, I was placed in a year-long introductory communications class with a small group of people. These people would become close friends and relieving friendly faces found in the rest of our Comm classes during college.

This class was where I met Madison McGhee. We didn’t speak much outside of group projects, but the summer after, we became inseparable.

In the summer of 2011, I attended a Leadershape conference whose vision is to provide “a just, caring, and thriving world where all lead with integrity and a healthy disregard for the impossible.”

Leadershape was a week-long retreat at a plantation in Charleston where we didn’t have phones, computers, internet, or essentially anything any millennial is desperate for. It was an incredibly inspiring experience, and it was where Madison and I bonded over the idea that we should live life positively to the best of our ability and to help others find positivity within themselves.

She aimed at making non-profits and I wanted to pursue something in the entertainment industry and when she graduated a year before I did, it seemed like our bond would fizzle. But, it did not fizzle at all ... it ignited. Madison kept visiting Charleston and each time, I would help her with a project here and there.

Then six months later, she created The Lemon Stand, a boutique production company aimed at spreading positivity – “finding it, creating it, and sharing it.” I thought to myself, this is perfect, and I needed to get involved.

One late night, I was laying in bed watching Netflix when I got a text from Madison, clearly struck from inspiration which was not unusual. She decided she wanted to travel across Europe and film a documentary exploring and challenging the theory that millennials will find themselves when they dare to lose themselves through traveling.

With my production and promotion experience, she thankfully thought I would be able to assist her on the US end as she went abroad. I am grateful and honored to help my friend promote her first film, but also to be an official part of The Lemon Stand team.

I am doing what I love while helping a friend do what she loves, while hopefully bringing joy into other people’s lives! What can be better than that!

Keep up to date on Madison's travel blog and find out more about The Lost + Found Project documentary here!

"You can't wait for inspiration, you have to beat it with a club." - Jack London

Snaily  Quote

CELEBRATE WITH A BIG TITLE

Blog

bottom of page